Sounds Good Poster.jpeg

Saturday, September 25, 2010 | 8:00 pm
Chapel of the Holy Innocents | Bard College
Free and open to the public

For the first program of the 2010-2011 regular season, contemporaneous has created a concert experience that encompasses a wide variety of music by five composers under the age of thirty and one of the most prominent composers of our time. With influences as diverse as American folk, Slavic soul, Germanic lore, and downtown Minimalism, no two pieces will sound alike, but each is sure to sound good!

To open the performance, we will give the world premiere of the third in what will hopefully become a long line of Contemporaneous commissioned works, this one a unique and riveting new work by founding co-artistic director Dylan Mattingly. Also as a world premiere, we will perform Bard Conservatory composer Lukáš Oljeník’s pathos-filled concerto for guitar and chamber orchestra with dazzling guest soloist Cameron O'Connor. We will present East Coast premieres of works by two recent Bard College graduates: a boldly imaginative piece by Shen Yiwen and a vivid chamber concerto by Jesse Brown. Also on the program are a moving work by young NYC composer Missy Mazzoli and the entrancingly expressive Fifth String Quartet of Philip Glass.


Dylan Mattingly (b. 1991): Lighthouse (2010) [Contemporaneous commission] 
Missy Mazzoli (b. 1980): Still Life with Avalanche (2008)
Jesse Brown (b. 1987): Through the Motions (2009) *

– Intermission –

Lukáš Oljeník (b. 1987): Tibi et Igni (2009-2010) 
Shen Yiwen (b. 1986): Walpurgisnacht (2009) *
Philip Glass (b. 1937): String Quartet No. 5 (1991)

* East Coast premiere
† World premiere